Texas teens between the ages of 14 and 17 have several choices for taking drivers education to apply for and receive their Texas driving permit and drivers license. The most frequent and cost effective choices for busy families is to sign up for the Virtual Drive Parent Taught Drivers Ed Texas teen course.
The State of Texas offers parents the option of instructing their teen through a structured course that offers 32 hours of multimedia training that is consistent in the classroom training in a typical Texas driving school. The course includes 44 hours of behind-the-wheel driver training. Parent Taught Drivers Ed (PTDE) is very structured with a emphasis on safety with proven learning techniques.
Our Texas Parent Taught Driver Education (PTDE) course includes everything your teen needs to meet their Texas drivers license requirements. Our course, Virtual Drive Parent Taught #107, is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TLDR) and approved by the State of Texas for teens 14-17 years of age.
The online drivers education Texas parent taught course progresses at your own pace, as your lifestyle allows. Students can use any computer, laptop or tablet device with their login ID and password.
Parents usually setup a time for odd day of the week to focus on the in-car driving lessons with their teen. This schedule is beneficial for both the parent and the teen, making this ideal for working families.
Some students complete the Texas drivers ed online parent taught course in six to twelve months, due to their busy schedules. Others who are more aggressive, complete the course in 3 - 6 months. With a simple schedule and determination, it's very realistic to complete the teen driving course in as little as twelve weeks.
Start by enrolling your student in a Texas parent taught drivers education course approved by the State of Texas (TDLR).
Send form DL-92 to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) to participate in the parent taught program.
Receive your PTDE packet from TDLR and begin the online course. Complete the first six hours and take the DPS written test.
Bring your certificate and take the written test at your local DPS office. Pass the eye exam and receive your learners permit.
Begin behind-the-wheel lessons with designated parent, and continue working on the online classes.
Once the course is completed, being at least sixteen years of age, take the DPS road test and receive your drivers license.
Getting your permit and Texas drivers license is hassle free with our parent taught online drivers education Texas course. The course includes everything your teen needs to get their permit and drivers license.
Looking to get your Texas drivers license, but uncertain how to go about doing it? Are you delaying it because you thought it would take a long time?
The process is not as hard as you might believe. Texas is one of few states where the law requires that if you did not graduate from an approved drivers ed course as a teen, and are older than 18 but younger than 25, then you must complete an Adult Texas Drivers Ed online course that is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).
You have options once you complete the online adult Driver Education training. Show your ADE-1317 certificate to your nearest Department of Public Safety (DPS) office. In order to receive a Texas drivers license, you will have to pass the DPS road exam in a vehicle with a Texas State Officer.
If you know how to drive and feel you are ready to take the DPS road test, then you can go ahead and schedule it. In larger areas, you may have to schedule the test a few days later in the week. In smaller towns, they can usually test you on the same day.
If you are not prepared to take the DPS road exam yet, then you can apply for a Texas learners permit. This will allow you to practice driving skills with a licensed driver in the passenger seat who is over 21 years of age. As long as your passenger is licensed and at least 21 or older, you can practice driving improve your driving skills. Once you have accumulated driving experience and are ready to take the DPS road test, you can revisit the DPS office to schedule it.
Get your learners permit and Texas drivers license if fast and easy! Approved for adults 18-24, convenient for new-to-state drivers and adults over 25.
Virtual Drive of Texas offers state approved Texas Drivers Education courses for teens and adults. Both our parent taught and adult drivers education courses are taken online, offer safe driving tips and are approved by the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (TDLR).
At Virtual Drive, "Every Student Matters." Hundreds of thousands of Texas teens and adults have relied upon our Texas Drivers Education Online courses to meet their drivers education requirements and get their learners permit and Texas drivers license.
Questions about our courses?